MSc BMGF Scholarships for 2017/2018 for Nigeria and Ghana.

Application Deadline: June 15, 2017

Collaborative Master’s Program in Agricultural and Applied Economics in Eastern, Central and Southern Africa (The CMAAE Programme)

African Economic Research Consortium

Established in 1988, African Economic Research Consortium (AERC) is a premier capacity building institution in the advancement of research and graduate training that inform economic policies in Africa. The principal mission is to strengthen local individual and institutional capacity to conduct independent, rigorous inquiry into problems pertinent to the management of sub-Saharan African economies through synergistic programmes combining economic research with postgraduate training in economics.

The CMAAE Programme

The Collaborative Masters in Agricultural and Applied Economics (CMAAE) is one of three postgraduate programmes of AERC. Currently, 17 departments of Agricultural Economics of public universities in 12 countries in Eastern, Central and Southern Africa participate in the programme. The students enroll in any of the eight (8) accredited university departments of Agricultural Economics (see application procedure below) for the first two semesters to take core courses before the successful ones converge at a Shared Facility for Specialization and Elective (SFSE) to undertake elective courses in the
third semester, usually at the University of Pretoria.

MSc. Scholarships, 2017/18

In its 3-year programme, the funding agency, in co-operation with the CMAAE Programme of AERC, is offering up to 50 in-region scholarships for the Master of Science Programme in Agricultural and Applied Economics.

Applicants Requirements

  • Must be nationals of Ghana, and Nigeria;
  • Must have attained a First Class or a Second Class Honours (Upper Division) degree in Agricultural Economics or related field from a recognized university;
  • Must be willing to work in their country government ministries/ institutions upon graduation.

Duration and Commencement

The duration of the CMAAE programme is two (2) years, generally starting in August/September 2017 for all the universities except the University of Pretoria, which will admit in January 2018.

Application Procedure and Deadline.

Interested applicants must submit their applications for admission directly to any of the eight CMAAE accredited universities (application procedure can be obtained from the respective university websites). These are: Egerton University, Kenya; Haramaya University, Ethiopia; University of Nairobi, Kenya; Makerere University, Uganda; Sokoine University of Agriculture, Tanzania; Lilongwe University of Agriculture and Natural Resources (LUANAR), Malawi; University of Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe; and University of Pretoria, South Africa. Upon receipt of an admission letter from the specific university, the applicant should upload the following documents via the AERC scholarships application portal not later than June 15, 2017.

  • Scholarship application letter;
  • Curriculum vitae;
  • MSc admission letter or temporary/provisional admission letter, or an official letter assuring admission with fee structure;
  • Certified copies of University transcripts and certificates;
  • Academic reference from at least a Senior Lecturer.

Application Deadline: June 15, 2017

For more information about The CMAAE Programme, please click here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s